Casting Wonder Woman

My friend Stepheney and I were discussing The Avengers success. We both loved the movie. And apparently DC Comics is exploring a Justice League film to get a piece of the superhero team pie. They already have a successful Batman franchise, and they’re working on yet another Superman. Ryan Reynolds is signed on for more Green Lantern films, as far as I know. So that leaves Wonder Woman and some minor characters that need some tie-in films. I personally am hoping the Wonder Twins get a chance to activate.

Stepheney said she and her friends couldn’t come up with viable actresses who could do a good job with Wonder Woman, so I wanted to do some dream casting. I’ve heard Olivia Wilde suggested, but I don’t think she has the right look. I’ve also heard fanboys squee for Olivia Munn in the role. I’ve never seen her act, though. So let’s skip the Olivias.

Here are my suggestions… Let me know what you think in the comments!

Anna Silk

As the lead in SyFy’s Lost Girl, she has skirted the superhero type role, playing with a bit of action. She’s older than the rest of my list, but she’s able to emote in a complex way that I think would translate well into a modern Wonder Woman.

Ksenia Solo

Ksenia is also on SyFy’s Lost Girl. You may also recognize her from Black Swan, Life Unexpected, or The Cleaner. She’s younger than Anna, with a completely different look. She’s done some actiony stuff in Lost Girl, and she’s a trained ballerina, so she could bring grace to the Wonder Woman role.

Mary Elizabeth Winstead

Mary Elizabeth Winstead is totally ready to take on a lead role in an action flick. She played John McClane’s daughter in Live Free and Die Hard, after all. But her role as Ramona Flowers is what really shows off her chops… with less colorful hair for Wonder Woman, maybe. Apparently, I’m not the only one to think of her for the role… http://moviesblog.mtv.com/2007/10/26/mary-elizabeth-winstead-envisions-bulking-up-for-wonder-woman

Gemma Arterton

I know Gemma mostly from her too-short role as Bond-girl Strawberry Fields in Quantum of Solace and from St. Trinian’s, but she also had great roles in Prince of Persia and Clash of the Titans. I just don’t know if Wonder Woman should be British. Maybe she can lose the accent? What kind of accent do Amazonians have, anyway? And if Gemma can play a Greek in Clash of the Titans and a Persian in Prince of Persia, does it matter?

Kaniehtiio Horn

Kaniehtiio is the least known person on my list. She’s a Mohawk actress, and I would love to see more First Nations actors get great roles in film. She has done mostly small, but interesting roles.

Katrina Law

Law was in the Spartacus series that aired on Starz, and she had guest roles on Chuck and Legend of the Seeker. She’s had some other small action-oriented roles, too.

Missy Peregrym

Missy is at the bottom of my list as far as the look goes, but I think she could pull it off, based on roles in Smallville, Heroes, Stick It, and Rookie Blue.

10 responses to “Casting Wonder Woman

  1. mylittlebecky

    I’m definitely going with Katrina Law. She was great in Spartacus.

  2. I think this blog was really just an excuse to post pictures of hot chicks. 🙂

  3. Katie Sackhoff!! She is perfect

  4. Out of this list I gotta give you props for adding Katrina Law! She should definitely be in the running and wins for me from the actresses you listed! Very nice choices, but she really solidified it once I saw her. I loved Spartacus and she def has what it takes.

  5. 10 years ago i would have suggested [and did] julie strain but i don’t think she could pass anymore. someone somewhere on the internet suggested cobie smulder and i wouldn’t have agreed until i remembered her part in tru calling as a murderer and stopped seeing her only as a comic actress

    • I haven’t seen Cobie in Tru Calling… She has a slightly awkward look that works in comedy. But I don’t know if it’s classic enough for Wonder Woman.

Leave a Reply

