Casual Blogger In Search Of Manic Pixie Dream Girl For End Of World

I have been told that there is no such thing as a Manic Pixie Dream Girl, that it is a  shallow construct of the entertainment industry created by a machine unable to create real character depth in less than three hours.

If that is the case, I will relax the requirement:
Casual Blogger In Search Of Dream Girl For End of World

But the same world that tells me that the MPDG does not exist also tells me that the end of the world is coming in 2012. How do I believe one and not the other? So whether the world ends in 2012, or in 9912, it would be nice to have someone by my side to watch the comet hit.

If you are a dream girl, you probably want to know something about me, and since I am a casual-not-prolific blogger, you won’t be able to glean too much about me from my blog.

I have been told I am too nice on several occasions, with different meanings embedded behind the words. I have been called nerd and geek much more frequently, sometimes as an insult, sometimes not. I hold to the words of Kierkegaard, though: “Once you label me, you negate me.” I hope you don’t feel dream girl is a label. I don’t want to negate you, either.

Some dream girls for benchmarking purposes: Rachel McAdams, Mandy Moore, Victoria from the Buttercup Bakery.

I am divorced and have an almost 10 year old son who is wonderful. You would probably fall in love with him before you fall in love with me.

I am a media junkie. In college, I was one class away from minoring in Pop Culture, but it required an additional semester, so I chose to graduate as an Advertising major/English writing minor, but I have maintained my amateur status in both. I often quote movies, songs, and television shows in addition to fathers of existentialism.

I am a man who, like Ted Mosby, gravitates to the grand gestures of blue french horns. I am the type of man who would say he would write you a poem every day. It would start on the first day with a well written sonnet in iambic pentameter. The second day would bring a fair attempt at a sestina. And then I would lose it and start writing bad haiku.

The haiku would probably be about zombies.

I have a good job, and I own my own house. The house is mostly a blank canvas – most of my effort has been trying to get the outside pretty (i.e. make the grass grow). If you have any DIY skills, it’s a bonus. Crafty girls (in the sense of Etsy, not the Beastie Boys) get bonus points, too.

If you need letters of reference from friends and ex-girlfriends, I can provide them on request. I just came out of a long-term long-distance relationship that ended fairly amicably. She is reading this blog right now, and think she would be happy to tell you about all the good things and the bad things about me.

If you’re intrigued by this blog, it’s probably best to not reply here. I can be shy and after I publish this, I’ll probably be embarrassed. You may want to just stalk me on Twitter or Facebook and flirt with me and pretend you never read it.

6 responses to “Casual Blogger In Search Of Manic Pixie Dream Girl For End Of World

  1. So, any luck on this front? Also, which other existentialists do you read?

    • No time for love, Dr. Jones.

      Kierkegaard is my go-to guy for existentialism, but I’ve like Camus’ take on the absurdity of life and the actions we take to defy it. I trend to disregard Sartre, though.

      • Ah, unfortunate, since, what else is there to life except time and love? A friend is doing his master’s on kierkegaard and is nuts on him. I prefer Deleuze.

        • Here are the dangers of flippant comments to philosophers.*

          I haven’t read much on Deleuze, and have read none from him. From what I do know, there are two things that stand out in his thought. He doesn’t see things as Plato did in the Allegory of the Cave, that all things are based on the Ideal, but that each thing is a copy redefining itself. But as Keaton said in Multiplicity, “You know how when you make a copy of a copy, it’s not as sharp as… well… the original.” I like Plato’s concept of the Ideal – it gives us something to strive to. If there’s not a concept of the Ideal, I think society would devolve from entropy, and the lowest common denominators would win out.

          The other foci I see in Deleuze is the embrace of the Difference. From that, it seems that we can only be defined in comparison with something else. Does it really matter how different or similar I am, or my actions are, to someone else? And yet, with Kierkegaard, the Individual is important, and how can I be an Individual unless I am set apart from the madding crowd through my Differences?

          * “Flippant Comments to Philosophers” would be a good title for a book…

  2. Yes that would be a good book title! I think I might be able to chuck a few in such a book: i.e. I was talking in a small group setting the other night and someone asked me if I found an answer to my question, and I could only think that a question is rarely ever answered since the problem is always more than the active consciousness can comprehend.

    Ah yes, he hasn’t much of a taste for transcendence. It is easier to describe it as a reversal of Plato’s simulacrum. Politic’s is a bit more difficult though. I think the materialism Deleuze makes a case for through difference is an easier starting point for politics than trying to determine, or define an Idea[l] (universal). My country is thinking of creating a constitution, but on what basis is it going to do so? Which rationality? Which ideals? Should it draw from The Republic(which it won’t be able to avoid)?

    And you got his take on difference entirely backwards. He is against the difference between things (also including analogy) being the grounds in which the uniquness of a persons is determined. The real of an individual is the difference in themselves, not their difference from others. Each person is different primarily in themselves, and it is through genuine encounter with others that identities change. One of his problems with transcendence – and Plato’s Ideal – is that it gets in the road of experiencing a person as who they truly are. To have it the other way would be to meet only the Ideal in each person, rather than each person as they are their own person.

Leave a Reply

