My unique coffee table!

For Christmas, my dad made a one-of-a-kind coffee table for me.

I don’t know where the giant paintbrushes came from, but my mom has had them for a while. One day I was at my folks house and I said it’d be cool to make a coffee table that looks like a painter’s palette, with these paint brushes as legs.

So my dad for Christmas made me just that. Originally it did have the paintbrushes as legs, but it was really wobbly, so I made a new base for it.

I made the base out of canvas stretchers that I assembled and nailed together. They have a picture frame look, and are cool because it keeps the art supply theme going. They’re not super strong – I wouldn’t stand on the table or anything, but they’re pretty good. I stained them with the same stain that I used for the top of the table (Minwax Gunstock). The base is darker than the table top because of the different woods, but it still looks good. It’s more subtle than the picture shows.

I’m going to try to keep this theme going in the living room. I want to make a lampshade out of this watercolor paper pad cover. I also want some coasters for the coffee table. I saw these great ones on Etsy made out of recycled paint chips that are really cool. (Not $24 cool, though, when I can do it myself.) Colorwheels might be good, too.

So what do you think? Do you like the table? We’ve learned from making it, and my dad and I think we can do another like it better. And maybe sell it on Etsy. My walls in this room are still pretty bare, so I’ll be looking for (or making) some art for the huge walls. Do you have any other suggestions for the room?

7 responses to “My unique coffee table!

  1. I have a few friends (and a little sister) who are artists (the paintbrush and palette kind) and would LOVE a table like that. It’s really nice.

    You could always adhere the giant paintbrushes to the new base with glue or nails.

  2. That’s a really cute table! And it looks great on that trendy little blue and brown rug you have. Where on earth did you find such a great rug?!?! 🙂

    oh, and I highly support the coasters. I would pay $24 for those but that’s because I’m not artsy like you.

    • Did I tell you that when I moved in and Stanley Steamer guys came to clean the carpets, they did the rugs and they complimented the rug you gave me as being high quality?

      They couldn’t get Charlie’s pee stains out though.

  3. It IS high quality. I love that rug.

    Just tuck the pee stain under the couch… no one will notice 🙂

  4. catastrophegirl

    i love it, but i think you spent too much time in the guest gallery area of DQ if you think paintbrushes are furniture.

Leave a Reply

