New Year Meme

I cloned this New Year meme from Aunt Becky at MommyWantsVodka.com. If Michael Keaton only ever taught me one thing, it’s that when you make a copy of a copy, it’s not as sharp as the original. Did you bring me any pizza, Steve? My apologies to Aunt Becky. Did you bring me a monkey?

1. What did you do in 2010 that you’d never done before?
I am no longer Renting in Neverland.
You can read about my Homebuying Adventure.
And you can even get a tour of my Home at 6 Weeks!

2. Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I am an iconoclast. I don’t make resolutions. I can’t even believe I’m answering this New Year related quiz.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
My ex-wife had a baby, which makes my kid a big brother which is kind of cool for him. Not so cool for me, but whatever.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
Hester the Ninja Hedgehog, died. I tip my 40 to his memory.

5. What would you like to have in 2011 that you lacked in 2010?
2010 wasn’t a bad year for me, but more happy moments are always welcome.

6. What countries did you visit?
Mexico, Norway, China, Germany, Italy, Japan, Morocco, France, the UK, and Canada.

7. What date from 2010 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
No single date really is etched. Is that common?
I usually equate days that will live in infamy to tragedies, and I was mostly tragedy free.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
I lost 26 pounds.

9. What was your biggest failure?
I gained a lot of it back.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
I had to call in to work one day in 2010 because of food poisoning.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
A house.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
Mine. I was awesome.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
The rest of the world.

14. Where did most of your money go?
That’s an interesting question, because I keep a spreadsheet of all of my budget and all of my expenditures. Housing expenditures were the most money, which might be obvious. That’s rent, primarily, and expenditures for the new house. It was followed closely by child support payments, and money towards paying off debt (credit cards and student loan). I did spend more money eating out than on groceries, but the new house is already making me more likely to eat at home. And I can fish off the back porch. That’s been a couple of free meals already. 🙂

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
The house.

16. What song will always remind you of 2010?
Maybe the songs from the Target Christmas ads. Electronic Santa’s gonna crash your Christmas party…

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
i. happier or sadder?
I don’t believe in The Illusion of Happiness, but I think I’m in a better place now that I was last year.
ii. thinner or fatter?
I am a little thinner. I need to work at getting more thinnerer.
iii. richer or poorer?
My bank account is about the same, my 401k is depleted, but I am more financially stable. I have less credit card and student loan debt. I have a mortgage, but it’s cheaper than rent, and paying it creates equity.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Exercise.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Eating.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?
Christmas is over. But it was sedate, spent with family.

21. There was no #21. I don’t know why there was no 21. I’ll make up my own question because I like to hear myself talk. Why are you so damn sexy?
Because I am made of awesome.

22. Did you fall in love in 2010?
Nope.

23. How many one-night stands?
I don’t do those.

24. What was your favorite TV program?
LOST ended.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
Hate is a strong word. I try not to hate.

26. What was the best book you read?
I read a TON of books this year and didn’t keep track. Visit your local library. There are treasures within.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Foxy Shazam

28. What did you want and get?
A house. These questions seem redundant.

30. What was your favorite film of this year?
Catfish sticks in my mind pretty well – if you haven’t seen it, watch it without researching it too hard.
Red and Tangled and Tron and Toy Story 3 were good popcorn flicks.
I liked the epic of epic epicness that was Scott Pilgrim vs. The World.
Easy A was unexpectedly enjoyed, but then, I usually do like cheesy high school comedies.
But Inception and The Social Network were the best movies.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I turned 36. Hung out with friends at Bar Louie. 2010 was the year of sedate celebrations.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Better connections. And an iPad.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2010?
The opposite of Ke$ha.

34. What kept you sane?
Nothing. Save me.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Amy Pond.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?
Stirred me? The ridiculousness of the tea party stirred me like arsenic into black eyed peas.

37. Who did you miss?
Amy Kate. She moved to Korea. 한국에서 선물!

38. Who was the best new person you met?
These people.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2010:
“I thank God for the catfish, because we would be dull and boring if we didn’t have somebody nipping at our fin.”

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:

I try to compensate her lack of love with coffee cake
Ice cream and a bottle of ten dollar wine
She says hey
I rock the Haro sport
I rock the cowgirl blues
I rock too fast for love I’m footloose in my Velcro shoes
What’s up with Will and Grace?
I don’t get drum and bass
The future freaks me out 

I’m on fire and now I think I’m ready to bust a move
Check it out I’m rocking steady
To the beat in my head
It goes oh, oh, oh

If we can both find a way
To do the things that we say
We might not sit in our rooms
And drink our daydreams away
Betty, I’m a dreamer

“The Future Freaks Me Out” – Motion City Soundtrack

Leave a Reply

