DIY Cardboardasaurus! RAWR!

Many of you know me from Twitter and/or Facebook and you have seen my profile image:

Original Cardboardasaurus

Documentation of the creation of this cardboardasaurus can be found here: http://familysizedfun.com/2010/05/non-bloggers-a-series-2/

Since Halloween is coming up, and this one is getting a little ratty, I thought I’d make a new cardboardasaurus and show you how! It’s pretty simple to do, and uses things that you probably have lying around your house… boxes, tape, scissors, paint… And the results turn out pretty well.

I took my son Alexander to Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party at the Magic Kingdom at Walt Disney World and I got a lot of great reactions for the cardboardasaurus. My favorite was Jack Sparrow, on the top of his parade float way up high, saw me, made an impressed face, pointed at me, made a horn with his hand like on my head, and then gave me two thumbs up.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For the new cardboardasaurus, I had a triceratops in mind, and as I gathered materials, I kind of lucked out. I was able to do most of it with just two shoe boxes.

This is the first shoe box. It’s a pretty sturdy one, and holds paint well, but was easy to cut. I used scissors and a utility knife.

 

Step 1: Gather supplies

After I had the box, I had to make the main part of the head. This means cutting the box on an angle to give the sloped snout that I’m sure dinosaurs had. I also cut off the lid and sloped the back, too. Packing tape holds it together.

 

Step 2: Shape the head.

Like I said, I was lucky with this box. Using the lid of the same box I’d just cut off, I was able to fashion the back of the triceratops head… I don’t know what the thing is called… a cowl? “Bony frill” is what wikipedia says. I also used parts I’d cut off the box to make the horns. These I also affixed with packing tape.

Step 3: Add details

Next come the eyes. The shape and placement are pretty important. Eyes are what give character. I suggest experimenting with multiple shapes and using the best as a template. By cutting them directly out of the skull-box, you add dimension, and it looks way better than just painting on an eye.

Step 4: The all important eyes

At this point the top of the head is done. The rest is just jaw and teeth, but this can be tricky. I had to do some trial and error to find out what would work best with the materials at hand. I had a shoebox for a pair of my son’s shoes so it was slightly smaller than the one I used for the top of the head. I used scissors to just teeth.

Step 5: Teeth and jaws

I started out placing this teeth box below the main head, but that made the proprotions look odd, so I ended up taping it up inside the main head. Again, experiment with what you think looks best. There’s no harm to changing things as you go.

The bottom jaw was just some more scrap cardboard from another box. Pretty simple. And then I painted it with some acrylic paint I had lying around. Remember, regular cardboard is pretty absorbent, so you may need multiple coats. But neatness doesn’t really count. The rough look of haphazard paint enhances it, I think.

Step 6: Paint

I think it turned out okay. What do you think? Think you can make one for yourself or your kids? If you do, let me know! I’d love to see it!

Coincidentally, the talented artist JC, over at http://www.theanimatedwoman.com/ started a new blog series called “YOU” where she draws one of YOU. But for today, she drew ME!! Check me out – a cardboardasaurus made out of wine boxes! I love it!

 

10 responses to “DIY Cardboardasaurus! RAWR!

  1. WHAT?!? I can’t believe it. What an amazing coincidence….
    Your Triceratops is fantastique! Thanks so much for premiering my series and letting me draw YOU.

    JC

  2. Awesome!

  3. hahahahahahahahahaha!

  4. Amazing! TY so much for taking the time to demonstrate/share your mad creative cardboard skills.

  5. Hahahaha! I always wondered what the secret was behind that. So funny to see you wearing it everywhere. You should make a skit of that. Lol.

    • I would like to spread the secret of the cardboardasaurus to the ends of the earth.

      It’s a fun little project. I think it’s great for kids.

      And adults who act like kids.

  6. Pingback: 2010 Blog in review | Random Acts of Coffee

Leave a Reply

