Quick update

We are all moved, from our two bedroom apartment to two bedrooms of a four bedroom house. Space is limited, but we’re making the best of it. It’s definitely not the best situation for us, but right now, cheap rent will lead to better situations in the future.

Alexander had a hard time with the move. He can be a little dramatic, but this wasn’t just being dramatic – he seemed to be having an anxiety attack. Some of it was because he wanted to help, and I’d tell him one thing, but then someone else would tell him to do something else, and so he didn’t know what to do. But he also picked up on my own anxiety, I know. But we worked through it and by the end of the weekend, he was doing good. It helps that the development community pool has a big twisty slide. We’ll try and go this weekend.

I’m eating out more because of the move, though. Right now, I am having hotcakes at McDonalds. But they’re playing good music, good cheap coffee, have free wifi. I want to know who sings this version of Waters of March that they are playing.

I saw Toy Story 3 and liked it a lot. It was darker than the first two, but it made total sense in the progression of the characters. I’ve only heard adults say they think it’s too dark – not any parents who say their children are traumatized by it. And I liked all the head-nods to other stuff in the movie… Totoro, Lightning McQueen and Nemo references… Cool Hand Luke references… It was fun. Go see it.

This weekend, we’d talked about going to see The Last Airbender. And then I read the criticism of the Casting choices and I feel guilty for wanting to see it. I know Alexander doesn’t notice race much, but will this movie make him notice it? Why are kids who are Aleutian-ish in the cartoon played by white people, for example? I think we’ll probably go anyway, but maybe have a discussion about the Casting and see what he thinks.

That’s it. Thanks for reading!

6 responses to “Quick update

  1. A big twisty slide would fix a lot of my problems too! Glad you are all moved and starting to get settled.

    We all loved Toy Story 3, and my kids (ages 4 and 6) were totally unfazed by the peril. I, on the other hand, sobbed from the moment Andy and his mother walked into his (empty) room till well after the credits had rolled. Don’t you think Barbie and Ken stole the movie? Yay.

  2. Thank you for reading!

    I thought the Jessie/Buzz love story was fun, too. I liked it better than Barbie/Ken.

    Bonnie stole the movie, though. :)

  3. We live in a very small apartment too, but like you said, it is the best thing for us right now, saving money. In the end it will be worth it.
    I have heard good things about Toy Story, cannot wait till I am abke to see it.

  4. Hey there!

    If you are interested in a discussion about Casting in Last Airbender, check out Linda’s NPR Blog at http://www.npr.org/blogs/monkeysee/2010/07/01/128236752/casting-the-last-airbender-and-artie-getting-out-of-his-wheelchair

    I thought it made some nice points.

    Hope everything is going well with your family and the new location.

    Regards,
    Andrea
    (your smart chick follower)

    • Thanks for reading and commenting, Andrea!

      The NPR blog is a good piece on the Airbender casting – most of what I’ve read is one side or the other and that told the confused middle point of view very well. The Glee reference highlights the dichotomy well!

Leave a Reply

